MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRPERSON

HIS IS THE FOURTH TIME THAT I HAVE HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF HEADING UP THE SASTA CONGRESS ORGANISING COMMITTEE. THE CONGRESS COMMITTEE IS MADE UP OF MEMBERS OF THE SASTA COUNCIL, ALL OF WHOM ARE VOLUNTEERS. THESE HARD-WORKING PEOPLE MADE TIME IN BETWEEN THEIR BUSY WORK SCHEDULES TO ASSIST IN MAKING CONGRESS A SUCCESS. WHILST ORGANISING A CONGRESS IS TRULY A TEAM EFFORT A FEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS HAD SPECIFIC PORTFOLIOS. THESE ARE THE EDITORS FOR THE FACTORY (STEVE PEACOCK) AND AGRICULTURE PAPERS (SANDY SNYMAN AND DEBORAH SWEBY) AND PLANNING OF THE TRADE EXHIBITION (PAUL SCHORN). THE SASTA SECRETARIAT, DANILE MACDONALD ALSO PLAYED A PIVOTAL ROLE IN THE OVERALL ADMINISTRATION OF CONGRESS AND LIAISED CLOSELY WITH THE EVENT CO-ORDINATORS AT THE CONFERENCE COMPANY. THE WHOLE COMMITTEE, HOWEVER, WAS INVOLVED WITH DECISIONS RANGING FROM THE CHOICE OF DELEGATE BAGS, APPOINTING CHAIRPERSONS AND JUDGES, COMPILING THE SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMME, ARRANGING GUEST SPEAKERS, RIGHT THROUGH TO SELECTING THE MENUS AND THE WINES TO OFFER AT THE MEET AND GREET EVENT.

The SASTA Congress would not be the successful event it is without the commitment and dedication of the committee members. I would like to thank each one of them and request that you, the delegates, also acknowledge the efforts of the committee should you meet any of them during Congress.

Deborah Sweby July 2011



Standing, left to right: Deidre Hancke-Haysom
(The Conference Company), Keith McFarlane, Danile
Macdonald, Stuart Ferrer, Warren Lawlor
Seated, left to right: Ruth Rhodes, Sandy Snyman,
Kerry Redshaw, Deborah Sweby
Inset, top to bottom: Paul Schorn, Steve Peacock,
Gavin Smith