SASTA Congress 2013

Meet the people



From left to right: Kerry Redshaw, Vice-President; Gavin Smith, President; and Deborah Sweby, CoC Chair.

Meet the 2012 – 2013 SASTA President, Vice-President and Chair of the Congress Organising Committee.

Gavin Smith: SASTA President (2012 – 2013)

Gavin Smith is Industry Support Manager at the Sugar Milling Research Institute in Durban. He has been involved with the sugar industry since 1987. He has worked for Tongaat-Hulett Sugar and Illovo Sugar. After a brief stint in project management, he moved to the SMRI to help manage the research programme.

He now heads the Industry Support Division where he is responsible for training, consulting and the factory performance figures of the SMRI's Member and Affiliate Member mills. Gavin has been a SASTA member since 1990, has been on the SASTA Council for 5 years and President for the past 3 years.

Kerry Redshaw: SASTA Vice-President (2012 – 2013)

Kerry Redshaw is Operations Manager at the South African Sugarcane Research Institute (SASRI). Kerry has been at SASRI since 1992 where she has held various positions within the Plant Breeding, Agronomy and Resource Management environments.

Kerry has been an active member of the SASTA Council since 2008 and Vice-President since December 2010.

Deborah Sweby: Chair of Congress Organising Committee (2013)

Deborah is a Molecular Biologist in the Biotechnology facility at SASRI where she has been employed since 1993. Her work is mainly focussed on molecular aspects of pest and disease resistance and sugarcane genomics. She contributes to several SASRI research projects, both as a team member and as a project manager.

Deborah has been on SASTA Council since 2005 and has been Chair of the Congress Organising Committee for the last 6 years. ↔

